Canvas stretching

Hi! This week I didn’t quite learn how to make a frame, but I got to watch a professional stretch a canvas. Basically canvas stretching is required if you want to put it in a frame or hang it on the wall. It makes it look a lot more neater than hanging the rolled canvas. It requires a stretcher to stretch the rolled canvas around the wooden border. To keep it on the border it is nailed tightly. I also learned that you need to make the white border a bit bigger than the wooden border. If the border is smaller than the border it would cut off the picture. Something I was surprised about was how tightly my dad stretched the canvas. The corners look absolutely perfect once it was finshed.

Click photo to learn about the tools!

One Reply to “Canvas stretching”

  1. Look at you getting all fancy with “click photo to learn more”! Nicely done.

Leave a Reply